How to Obtain a Florida Real Estate License

Before You Begin

An applicant for a Florida Real Estate License must fulfill all of these requirements:

  • be at least 18 years old
  • hold a high school diploma or its equivalent
  • have a Social Security Number

Florida residency is not required.

Application approval generally takes 10-30 days.

The steps outlined below will tell you how to get a Florida Real Estate License.

Step 1: Register for Class

The Sales Associate Pre-License Course is required if you have not previously had a real estate license.

63 Hour Sales Associate Pre-License Course

Step 2: Submit State Application

You can submit your license application to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation before completing your class. We recommend that you do so, because the DBPR may take 10 to 30 days to process your application.

On the application you will share information about yourself and include a fee of $39.37 ($43 for broker applicants) payable to the DBPR. You can apply online or print a paper application.

Online Applications for Sales Associates 

Application for Sales Associate License

PDF Download

Step 3: Register for Electronic Fingerprinting

Florida requires fingerprints be taken in order to run a criminal background check.

In Florida

If you are in Florida, either permanently or visiting, you may get your fingerprints taken electronically through a Florida approved live scan vendor. Fingerprint reservations can be made online or by phone:

  • To make a reservation online, go to the IdentoGO website (formerly PearsonVUE), and complete the following steps in order:
    1. Choose “Schedule a New Appointment.”
    2. Choose Department of Business and Professional Regulation as the Agency Name.
    3. Choose DBPR – Real Estate Sales and Brokersas the ORI Number.
    4. Enter your zip code.
    5. Select a location, date and time.
    6. Complete your personal information and submit payment.
  • To make reservation by phone, contact the customer support center at 877-238-8232 to select a date and time that is convenient for you.

Cost of fingerprinting is $58.02.

You will be notified by email when your application has been approved (generally 10 to 30 days). This approval allows you to schedule the state exam. View Step 5 below for how to schedule.

Outside of Florida

If you are not in Florida, request that a Division of Real Estate Sales Associate/Broker fingerprint card be mailed to you. A fingerprint card may be obtained from the Department of Business and Professional Regulation by contacting the Customer Contact Center at 850-487-1395.

Schedule Fingerprinting with IdentoGO

Florida

Schedule Fingerprinting with Fieldprint

Naples, Florida

If you are asked for the “ORI” number at any time during the fingerprint process, use FL920010Z. This is how the fingerprinting company knows your fingerprints are for the Florida Real Estate License.

Step 4: Attend Class

You must complete an approved pre-license course before taking the state exam. To complete the course, you must pass the course final exam.

If you pass the course final exam, you will receive a Course Completion Certificate, which is valid for two years from the date of issuance.

If you fail the course exam, you will have to wait 30 days before retesting. If you fail a second time, Florida state law requires you to repeat the entire course before retesting.

Your course enrollment is valid for one year from the date you purchased it, or until you pass the course exam.

Blue Apple Real Estate School is a Florida approved Real Estate School. License #ZH1002915

Step 5: Pass the State License Exam

Once approved for the state exam, you will receive an “Authorization to Test” email notification from Pearson VUE that you are able to test. In this email, you are provided with a Candidate ID/FLREAPP number. You will use this 9-digit Candidate ID number when registering for the state exam with Pearson VUE.

You can register online or by calling 888-204-6289. The state exam fee is $57.75.

To pass the state exam, you must correctly answer at least 75 of the 100 questions. Your exam approval status is valid for two years from the approval date.

Pearson VUE Exam Registration

Step 6: Activate Your License

Your new license will be inactive until it is activated by a Florida licensed real estate broker or owner/developer.